The Babcock House Museum is a historic cobblestone house at 7449 Lake Road near the Village of Appleton in the Town of Somerset, New York not far from Lake Ontario. The Town of Somerset Historical Society maintains the Greek Revival house which was built in l838.
In the kitchen, re-enactors were busy churning butter
Those who came to the event were allowed to take self guided tours throughout all three floors of the house. Docents were available to give information and answer questions. In the basement, trains from the l950's were set up and small boys watched with wide eyes.
The three story gambrel roofed barn was open and visitors walked up a grassy sloped hill and into the building. Once inside, while she was looking around, Rebecca Austin commented "this would be a great place to have a square dance." Down in the main part of the barn, horse and carriage rides were offered and Norm Atwater and the horse (Queen) took passengers around the property.
You might be wondering what is so special about a cobblestone house. With a few exceptions, cobblestone buildings are unique to Western New York.
This particular house was built by Jeptha W. Babcock in 1848. He and his wife, Mary, came to Niagara County from Rensselaerville in Albany County in 1833. As well as being a farmer, he was a postmaster and state assemblyman. After his death, the homestead was owned by other families but much of the original architecture was preserved. Presently, it is owned by the Somerset Operating Company.
The Babcock House Museum is open on Sundays from one until four p.m. starting the last Sunday n June through the second Sunday in October, It is also open other times of the year for special events.